What is ANZAC day?

So ANZAC day this year was a bit of a phenomenon to me. It was polarizing… It demonstrated to me two aspects of modern society so far apart, so opposite, that comprehension of them both frustrates and confuses me.

First of all I want to get the negative out of the way nice and fast because I want to end this one on a positive note for once.

So without further adieu, a few questions about respect.

First up… can someone please tell me when the f..k did ANZAC day become an excuse to get drunk at seven in the morning and spend the day making a complete ass out of yourself? Do I mind this shit on Australia day? look not really. If that is how you want to celebrate this nation of ours then that’s fine, go for it.

But ANZAC day is different.

Let’s start with the fact that Australia’s blatant alcohol problem started long after WWI. Let’s move onto the fact that the dickheads most of these people turn into when drunk insult the memory of those who died simply through their behavior. And to top it all off; on a day which really should be all about silent contemplation, remembrance, and THINKING ABOUT THE PAST… destroying your ability for higher brain function of any kind really defeats the goddamn point.

And for the second question… actually more of a request; can those who are still sober but unfortunately to ignorant or arrogant to quite understand the point of ANZAC day, please just shut-up and stay off social media for at least 24 hours? I’m not even going to go into detail about this because I don’t want to give these people the legitimacy that comes through being thought about for too long. Instead, I’m just going to leave here a few examples of what I’m talking about.

Scott McIntyre

And this link:

But that’s enough for my rage session; I want to move onto something a little less frustrating and a little bit more uplifting.

I attended my first dawn service this year. Why? I really don’t know. I had always felt that I should attend, but I’d never had someone to attend with and had always felt awkward attending on my own. It had almost felt like attending something so steeped in tradition and ceremony was betraying my progressive, critical thinking world view; like it was almost uncool to respect something so old. But this year was different, I had my secret desire to honor those who died for our nation reinforced by someone I love and respect. So at 3.30 in the morning my partner and I dragged ourselves out of bed and walked down to Martin Place.

What I saw shocked me… sure I expected a few people to show up, I mean it’s the Sydney dawn service… but the place was literally overflowing. Estimates put the turnout at the Sydney service at over thirty thousand, by far the largest turnout the Sydney event had ever had. What brought me closer to tears than anything said during the service was simply the realization that people actually still care. In this city which I hate so deeply for its lack of any kind of integrity, so many had come out at four in the morning to stand quietly and honor those who went through hell to protect a way of life which, rightly or wrongly, they believed was under threat.

This is the other extreme end of the phenomenon ANZAC day was to me. It reminded me of what I love about this nation. And it’s something which I believe began with ANZAC. It’s that ability that Australian’s seem to have for pragmatism. That understanding of what is important, that ability to come together and stand for something together. Whatever your opinion is on whether ANZAC day should even exist or not, you have to recognize that thirty thousand people coming together to silently remember and give thanks to those who served is a beautiful thing. I’m not trying to glorify ANZAC day, on the contrary, I have huge issues with the entire ANZAC narrative and, believe me, this will be covered in posts to come. All I want to recognize is that people do care still.

And that gives me a little hope.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

This is my daddy and this is my daddy

Alright, there are so many aspects of this topic that grate the wrong way with me that I’m going to apologise in advance if this post bounces all over the place a little bit. I promise that I will try my hardest to keep it coherent and... Continue →